Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

09 July 2008

Release warns of persecution threat against British Muslim converts

ec9ad74817152bf362d5531721f3d732.jpgA growing number of Christians in Britain from a Muslim background are facing harassment and persecution, warns Release International.


They include ‘Yasmin’, whose ex-husband planned to kill her. She’s been attacked in the street, driven from her home and was taken under police protection.

Yasmin became a Christian after receiving a vision of Jesus during the difficult birth of her son. She tried to keep her faith a secret from her family, but eventually told her mother.

"When my mother found out I had become a Christian she went to the local mosque and told them that I had gone crazy," Yasmin told Release International, which serves the persecuted church in 30 nations.

"She went to get some holy water to heal me of my madness. A campaign was set up against me; people would come and bang on the door every ten minutes during the night."

The police set up a panic alarm but finally told Yasmin they could no longer protect her and moved her into a women’s refuge.

Yasmin relocated to another part of the country, but her ex-husband tracked her down and demanded custody of their children as he objected to them being brought up by a Christian.

She says: "He continually intimidated and harassed me and hired someone to beat me in the street. Wherever we went there would always be a car following us and watching us."

Her son yielded to pressure and went to live with his dad. "He only stayed one night," says Yasmin, "as his dad told him that he had arranged for someone to kill me and was pressing my son for details of the layout of our home - where the alarm was and where I slept."

Yasmin went into hiding with her son and took out an injunction against her husband. The harassment stopped, but that was not the end of the trouble.

POSTED BY /  http://www.christiantoday.com

01:11 Posted in ENGLAND | Permalink | Comments (1) |  Facebook |

Comments

I need to be aware of this so i look forwrd tothe emails.

Posted by: Mike | 12 July 2008

The comments are closed.