Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

14 November 2010

Gaddafi flies Italian women to Libya for 'cultural' tours - and romance

Colonel-Gaddafi-with-Silv-006.jpgLibyan leader aims to marry off young hostesses to local men, beginning with his nephew


Building on his friendship with Silvio Berlusconi, Libya's leader Colonel Muammar Gaddafi has begun flying groups of Italian women to Libya for "cultural" tours of the country, with the aim of marrying them off to local men – starting with his nephew.

"The leader wants young people from other countries to visit Libyan hospitals and universities as well as understand its history," said Alessandro Londero, the manager of the Italian hostess recruiting agency which supplies the women.

"But he is also interested in romances developing between youths from Libya and Italy." Gaddafi reportedly has high hopes that romance will spark between Clio Evans, 24, a half-English actor from Rome who has visited Libya four times, and his nephew, Ghazali.

"The colonel said: 'There is someone who would like your hand in marriage'," said Clio, whose father is from Beverley, east Yorkshire. "I was like, uh-oh, but Ghazali is cute, tall, and funny."

Gaddafi first got to know the women from Londero's agency when they were hired to hear him speak about Islamic culture during visits to Rome in 2009 and in August this year when he was criticised by the Vatican for advising his audience to convert to Islam.

Londero said he has now organised six trips to Libya for his hostesses, with Gaddafi on hand to greet them each time. "I used all my cards to impress Gaddafi, who is a real gentleman," said Evans. "He gave me one of the necklaces with his image on it which he usually gives to his female bodyguards. Then he introduced me to Ghazali."

At a dinner during the latest trip, Evans and Ghazali were placed alone at a candlelit table, with an interpreter. "We have tried to speak on the phone since my return but this is hardgoing since I don't speak Arabic. Plus he is Muslim and I am staying Christian," she said.

Evans also dismissed rumours that Berlusconi had picked up tips on hosting sex parties from Gaddafi.

 

http://www.guardian.co.uk

16:52 Posted in Africa | Permalink | Comments (5) |  Facebook |

Comments

I wonder when Gaddafi is going to leave his presidential seat.

Posted by: thyroid symptoms | 13 April 2011

A great article written with great hard work...i must say....a great work of your which shows...I like your site its quite informative and i would like to come here again as i get some time from my studies. And I will share it with my friends.

Posted by: seo outsourcing | 05 May 2011

I have been looking forever to find something like this! Great idea and I must say, it works great.

Posted by: cosplaycostumes | 18 May 2011

Believe on any type of software because such type of software’s are not accurate & all most guys are having knowledge about javascript is harmful for SEO purpose, so why we are focusing to optimize javascript, just remove it fromwebsite & focus

Posted by: Repair PST File | 24 May 2011

I just started reading your post and just after few seconds, I found it very interesting. I read your mostly all the posts. Nice posts, thank you so much for sharing the posts with all.

Posted by: Repair PST File | 24 May 2011

The comments are closed.