Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

15 April 2008

Racial hatred arrest for internet blogger

A blogger from Dunstable has been arrested and released on bail for allegedly stirring up racial hatred.


Paul Ray, who uses the pseudonym Lionheart on his provocative online diary, was arrested two weeks ago after returning from South Carolina, America where he was seeking political asylum.

He had already been warned via email on January 3 by Bedfordshire Police that he would be arrested if he returned.

Last month he attended Greyfriars police station in Bedford, was arrested then bailed and told to return in May to either be released or charged.

His blog includes his opinions on the heroin trade, Islamic fundamentalism and alleged police corruption.

Mr Ray, who used to have a flat in Great Northern Road and a computer shop on Albion Street, claims he has received death threats.

He told Luton/Dunstable on Sunday: "I felt it was right to come back. I handed myself in at a Bedford police station.

Click here to find out more!

"I was arrested on suspicion of stirring up racial hatred. They questioned me on parts of my blog. Compared to what's happening out there I haven't done that much.

"I'm a Christian - that's my defence.

"My belief it that it's my rights and responsibility to say what some people may not like, which may hurt feelings.

"My blog is a response to what is happening. I have not called for violence.

"You have got some Muslims calling for followers to overpower the state, opening recruiting for a global jihad and raising funds for this.

"I've written a few words on a blog." A spokeswoman for Bedfordshire Police said: "I can confirm that someone has been arrested on suspicion of inciting racial hatred and has been released on police bail to return in May.

"He hasn't been charged but if he chooses to identify himself then that's his concern."

POSTED BY  / http://www.lutononsunday.com

08:55 Posted in ENGLAND | Permalink | Comments (1) |  Facebook |

Comments

of course, arrest the christian, let the muslims who openly incite hatred, murder, rape, and taking over the govt, say whatever they like with impunity...we are getting close to having this same type of police state here in Canada.
our politicians have betrayed us to the enemy.

Posted by: Mary | 17 April 2008

The comments are closed.