Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

25 July 2006

24/7 Arab-Christian Television

medium_1000000000000.12.jpgCWNews.com LOS ANGELES, CA (ANS) -- Samuel and Mona, an Egyptian born couple now living in Southern California, are two of the most self-effacing people you could ever meet


Both hail from Cairo in Egypt, but instead of settling for the American dream of having a home in the suburbs, they have decided instead to make history.

For this gentle husband and wife team has dug deep into their own pockets to launch the first 24/7 Arabic Christian television channel in America called Alkarma TV, which means “The Vineyard” in Arabic.

And they run it out of their own home and aim it to the estimated 12 million Arabic speaking people in the US, Canada, and Mexico.

In a recent interview for my Window on the World radio show, I asked them both to begin by outlining their early life in Egypt before they moved to America.

Samuel began by explaining, “My father was responsible for a church in Cairo, Egypt, and I grew up in this church but then the authorities closed it down. So he then moved to another church and I was responsible for running the Sunday school there from 1985 to 1995. Later, I was responsible also for a youth meeting at the church. I was also involved in counseling ministry until I came here to the United States.”

During that time in Egypt, Samuel said he attended a college in Cairo where he studied math and computer science. It was there that he met his wife-to-be, Mona, who was an English major student, studying to become an English teacher.

“We got married after we graduated,” said Mona.

Not long after their marriage, Samuel moved to San Diego, California, to work as a business man and then returned to Egypt to bring his family back to America. (They now have two sons.)

Samuel said they had settled into a quiet life as immigrants in the Southern California area, but then something dramatic occurred. It took place on September 11, 2001 and it not only shocked the world, but also was the impetus for the couple to start Alkarma TV.

“When I saw the 9/11 attacks on television, it was as if Satan was speaking on the screen and saying, “I’m deceiving people. I am killing people, and I will deceive and kill even more.”

“I was very shocked at what I saw because all of these people who took part in the attacks were from the Middle East from an Arabic background. It was then that I realized that I had to do something for I realized that the only person who could change these people is Jesus Christ.”

Samuel said that he became aware that television was the best way to reach the Arabic-speaking community in North America.

“The medium of television is the only way to reach into every Arabic home in the United States with the Gospel as well as all over the world,” he said. “So that was why all of my mind was focused on reaching them in this way. If you give somebody a tract, or talk with them, probably they will be nice to you, but after that person leaves, often nothing happens. But, when you reach that person 24/7 at home, in his or her comfort zone, that’s the most effective means. This way, day after day, God will be able to reach them.”

I asked Mona if she had become worried about her husband, who couldn’t sleep at night because of his overwhelming feeling that God was calling him to start this TV channel.

“No,” she said, “because Samuel said it was a call from God and we prayed together about it and then I told him, “OK, we’ll do whatever God wants.”

It was then that Samuel began sharing the vision with as many Arab pastors that would listen to him.

“I told them that we have about 35 Arabic channels coming into the United States from the Middle East and all of them are non-Christian, anti-American and anti-Christian,” he said. “But none of my friends felt they could help, saying that my dream was ‘too big and too expensive.’”

It was then that Samuel realized that the only way forward was for him and Mona to dig deep into their own pockets and take out an equity loans for about $200,000 on their home and then purchase the necessary equipment.

“God had blessed us with a house and He told me that it was ‘not mine’ and that ‘I had to use it for the Kingdom,’” said Samuel. “So I took out the loan and bought the television equipment and began turning our home into a TV production facility and the garage into a studio.

“I then studied television production and started making programs out of the garage and then I would send them to the Middle East to the six different Christian channels over there. It was so encouraging, as we got a great feedback and response from them.”

I asked Mona how she felt when her husband took out this huge loan on their house.

“At first, it was a weird thing for me to understand, but then I realized that, as we live our lives only once, we have to do what God wants us to do. So that was the most important thing to me is to obey God.”

It was then that Samuel met Southern California-based Christian businessman, Michael Drzymkowski, who was introduced to them through Globecast, the world's leading provider of satellite transmission and production services for professional broadcast, enterprise, and Internet content. Later, Michael loaned them vital equipment for the start of Alkarma TV.

“We went on air from our home on October 15, 2005,” said Samuel. “We have a variety of different programs, including those for kids, youth; and family counseling. We also have preaching, church services, as well as, music shows and drama.”

I told Samuel that one of the distinctive features of a lot of American Christian television shows is evangelists asking for money. So, I asked him if he allowed that on Alkarma TV.

“No, no, no,” he said firmly. “We don’t allow that. If they ask for money, we cut them off right away. That’s not our goal. We started with nothing and we believe that God will take care of us and we don’t allow that.”

Mona then shared that they have been flooded with phone calls from viewers.

“People call in from many different backgrounds and some of them tell us that before they began watching our channel, they didn’t know anything about Jesus,” she said. “We often pray with them over the phone and they get saved and then we give them an Arabic Bible or New Testament and also a DVD in Arabic of the JESUS Film.

“None of our callers are angry with us actually we have received calls from people who said they were watching us so they could ‘mock us’ and then they got ‘hooked’ and God had touched their lives. They all got saved and gave their lives over to Jesus Christ.”

My colleague, Mark Ellis, then asked where most of the phone calls where coming from.

“Because we are covering North America, we get most of our phone calls from America, Canada, but we have received some from the Caribbean as well,” said Mona. “We get emails from different parts of the world because we are on the internet 24/7.”

I then rejoined the conversation and asked Samuel why it was important to bring the message of Christ to the Arabic-speaking people?

“It is because we have the Gospel that will change people’s lives and their way of thinking,” he replied. “We want our people to know Jesus Christ as their personal Savior. That’s way the channel is Christ centered and bible based.”

I then asked Samuel if, looking back, he could have ever dreamed that he would be running Alkarma TV.

“Absolutely not,” he said. “I had no idea that I would be responsible for a 24/7 Christian television channel. I was trying to get somebody else to do it but I couldn’t find anybody to step up with me to the challenge, so I started it myself.”

I then asked Samuel if he had received any financial support from American sources.

“Unfortunately not, except for Michael Drzymkowski who lent us some equipment, and also few little donations from individuals,” he said. “We are mostly funded by little donations ranging from $25 to $100 from our Arabic Christian friends and viewers,” he said. “We are running a 24/7 channel, spending over $60,000 a month to stay on air. Don’t ask me how we do it, but we continue to pray and every month we wittiness new miracles that God is doing. Still, we need more help, of course.”

I concluded by asking Samuel why American Christians should care about what is happening in their country and why they should support Alkarma TV.

“If they care about their country and its future, then they have to care about Alkarma TV. It is the only 24/7 Arabic Christian channel spreading the gospel of Jesus Christ to all Arabs in north America, preaching the love of God, the cross of Jesus Christ, and the message of forgiveness and salvation. “We have a wonderful opportunity to speak up and get the message out to the people.” he said.

For those who would like to help Samuel and Mona continue this vital ministry, you can go to their website, which is www.alkarmatv.com, or call their number which is: (714) 421 4019 and make a gift. And also, please don’t forget to pray for this unique and dedicated couple

00:55 Posted in Egypt | Permalink | Comments (0) |  Facebook |

The comments are closed.